Feeding the troll, part 2

July 17, 2010

this is what a feminist troll looks likeMy old friend Butterflywings – whose attempts at internet trolling I wrote about here – has submitted a couple of comments to my previous post. They have absolutely no relevance to that piece, of course, although in their own little way they’re really quite priceless, so I thought I’d share them here instead: transphobic hate speech of this calibre needs to put into the public domain so everyone can see it.

I’m not going to bother applying the pink sparklehammer of deconstruction to them; they speak for themselves. It is worth noting, though, that these are the words of a cis woman feminist. This, as they say, is what a feminist looks like.

Author : Butterflywings
E-mail : youthinkimtellingyou@yahoo.com
URL :
Comment:
Fuck you, little child. Your attempts to smear me all over the Internet are hilariously pathetic. You’re the one that hangs out in little cliques of people who agree with you.
Accuse me of trolling? Now I am. No point having a debate with morons, after all.

Author : Butterflywings
E-mail : likeintellingyou@hotmail.com
URL :
Comment:
You think you’re so great, don’t you? You realise everyone is laughing at you? I could demolish your pathetic attempt to argue against my arguments if I could be bothered, but frankly, posting links that agree with you…isn’t argument. Trannies are a bit thick, aren’t they.

It’s like waking up to find small piles of very smelly cat poo dotted around the place.

Time for some music, I think.

—————

Related post:

18 Responses to “Feeding the troll, part 2”

  1. msruthmoss Says:

    Ugh, I hate waking up to cat poo.

    However, unlike cat poo, which with special treatment and with great care (not just flinging in with the old cabbage!), can eventually be composted, butterflywings’ trolling is utterly, utterly pointless.

  2. Mary Says:

    Wow.

    If it wasn’t so sad it would be funny.
    “Butterflywings”is no feminist.
    I wish I had the grace to deal with such people as you do.

    What baffles me is that she seems very stuck in some kind of warped idea of physical biology. I wonder what she thinks of stereotyped social gender norms, because as far a those are concerned, Helen acts with all the poise of a genteel lady, and “Butterflywings” like an impotent bully with a napolean complex. Jus’ sayin

  3. Helen G Says:

    Kind of you to say so – some trolls’ comments do annoy me, some I can just shrug and hit the ‘delete’ button without any further thought, but this one just cracks me up, every time. Maybe that’ll change if she ever manages to string together a coherent sentence, but on the basis of the stream of garbled invective that’s her hallmark, I can’t see it happening any time soon.

  4. chartreuseflamethrower Says:

    Because posts about intersexed people and their legal status are totally arguments to butterflywings’ arguments… okay? Trolls are so, so special.

  5. Helen G Says:

    I have a hunch that she was more bad-tempered than usual because comments on my original post were closed and she just had to share her thoughts with me somehow – even if it was on a post that had absolutely no relevance. But then, I suppose when the ranty spirit moves you, any comment field will do.

    For what it’s worth, I published that first post at the end of March, which might give a clue as to how often she bothers visiting here. And I brought in site-wide auto-closure of comments after 7 days when one of my posts started turning up in Google search results last year, and my stats counter went off the scale (17000 hits in one day?) – I’m sure you can imagine the proportionate increase in the amount of stupid comments that were left…

  6. chartreuseflamethrower Says:

    You’d think she’d at least make reference to the post she was referring to, though. She’s trying to call you a moron and dense while willingly appearing to be fuming mad at a post about intersexed rights that had no mention of her. Although I guess that’s a part of being a troll (I’m REALLY vague on the idea)

    I’m still not sure if someone who hit my site is a troll or not. They’re not as obvious, at least.

    Really can’t blame you for blocking comments on old posts after that.

  7. harukoraharu Says:

    I can see why you moderate comments now. I feel that I should understand the terminology a lot more than I do, that is a bit embarrassing. The number of haters within feminism make me feel uneasy about having any interest in this area. I know the world would be a dull place if we all agreed with everyone. I feel a bit uneasy about Tom Beatie and male pregnancy (maybe because I know I can’t and its an easy slur on trans women) but have been shot down for even mentioning it on a local (Cambridge) messageboard I used to participate on by cis and trans women. I still think these things need to be aired, though maybe you get nowhere when the other side is just not prepared to listen.

  8. Helen G Says:

    I still think these things need to be aired, though maybe you get nowhere when the other side is just not prepared to listen.

    Yeah, that pretty much sums it for me at the moment too.

  9. Helen G Says:

    And cue Butterflywings in 3… 2… 1…

  10. Butterflywings Says:

    Oooh hello ducks. Precisely, I don’t bother visiting your blog often. I have better things to do with my time. And frankly why yes, it is not very nice to read a steaming pile of poo, is it? Which is why I very rarely hold my nose and enter into your self-obsessed, nasty little blog.

    It’s rather sad how obsessed with me you are.

    The song is indeed appropraite for you Helen, you are indeed so vain.

    I note you still don’t have any coherent arguments, which of course is why you resort to bullying me with your mocking posts.

    I should be flattered really, I’ve clearly got to you enough that you feel the need to devote two whole posts to me.

    I would retaliate, but have far more interesting things than you to post about.

    Why chartreuse, I think you are the one who is special. Do you know what arguments are?

    Mary, hilarious – ‘genteel lady’ – you seem to be very stuck on ‘sterotypical gender norms’ (you mean stereotypical, by the way, dear, not stereotyped). Which is what I expect from the extreme trans lobby, of course.

    You people actively harm the trans cause, with your outdated gender roles and bullying aggression, you do know that? I would have had a lot more sympathty if you

    Don’t bother

    At least I’m replying here – I have the courtesy to do that – instead of not publishing comments and posting comments I have supposedly made. Which, by the way, are EXTREMELY heavily edited. Why yes, Helen is deliberately slandering me. The comments she claims I wrote are not what I said.

    Given the vitriol the trans lobby is capable of, I don’t intend to be back here. Helen seems like some kind of pathetic Internet stalker, and who knows what else he might do to me.

  11. Helen G Says:

    Well that’s me told and no mistake. Thanks B, for cisplaining it to me!

  12. Sophia Says:

    Love the feministe ‘next top troll’ annual feature. Just wondering whether ‘butterflywings’ would make it to a trans version. Maybe in a cisplaining section…

  13. chartreuseflamethrower Says:

    I never remember which is slander and which is libel.

    Why chartreuse, I think you are the one who is special. Do you know what arguments are?

    Why thank you! I think I’m very special, too. I also think people who argue trans people are attached to “outdated gender roles” have no idea what they’re talking about- but maybe that’s just because, as a non-binary, it’s pretty much impossible to perpetuate stereotypes for a thing that isn’t accepted.

    I feel a bit uneasy about Tom Beatie and male pregnancy (maybe because I know I can’t and its an easy slur on trans women)

    You know you can’t what?

    I will say, though, in relation to trans faabs who aren’t infertile- it was aggravating reading a blog by a cis woman who acknowledged cissexism and seemed to be about taking down the kyriarchy, yet continually perpetuated the idea that women give birth and once equated “women” with “people with uteri”, an implication of “people with *functional* uteri”.

  14. earwicga Says:

    Thanks for highlighting your March post. I only wish I’d read it a month ago.

  15. kinelfire Says:

    “I could demolish your pathetic attempt to argue against my arguments if I could be bothered, but frankly, posting links that agree with you…isn’t argument.”

    So… She’d post links that agree with you in an attempt to prove her point, but she acknowledges it isn’t argument? Certainly not if you do it like that, it isn’t.

    Here and I thought a black hole couldn’t exist on Earth when all this time there’s been one all along.


  16. […] Edit a second time: I used up all remaining spoons on responding to this thing, and I didn’t realize that Butterflywings was harassing Helen at BoP as well. […]

  17. Lynne Miles Says:

    I am quite loving the ‘little dollops of cat shit’ simile (metaphor? I never remember).

    Some people really are just a colossal waste of space, aren’t they?

  18. julian Says:

    What a distasteful person. On the other hand, Carly Simon! <3


Comments are closed.

