deflated

February 20, 2009

I’ve had some interesting discussions on the back of examining trans rage; sadly, even in the talks with the more enlightened people, we inevitably end up back at base camp; going over the same old ground, the tedious trans 101 stuff.

And, with the best will in the world, I just don’t have the heart for another turn on that particular fairground roundabout. Been there, done that, bought the T-shirt.

I’m writing this in a peculiarly deflated mood; if my rage was a sharp knife, its edge now feels distinctly blunted.

At the same time, I also know I need to dig deeper into the subject of trans rage – there are a couple of quotes in the Susan Stryker essay I’d like to put up here; I also found something on intersectionality that I want to look at again.

Just not right now, not tonight.

Pfft. I’m going to bed.
Goodnight.
Hx

ETA – Saturday morning: I just get really fed up going over the same old stuff, time after time after time. This isn’t to have a go at anyone especially, more that it just seems to be the way of any discussion anywhere about trans issues, we just never seem able to progress beyond square one.

I guess this is just The Way Things Are. Doesn’t make it right, or even wrong, particularly, it’s just how it is.

It just gets me down, is all.

Ho hum.

Right. I have to get organised now. Regular hairdressers appointment this morning out at Windsor – go me and my self-hyper-feminization – but it’s always nice to escape London for a couple of hours. Windsor’s a pretty place when the sun’s out, the girls in the salon are always fun, I’m accepted as I am, no po-mo structuralist analyses of the existence of trans ppl required.

Plus it’s a chance for a spot of retail therapy. Hairdressers and shopping: these are the real big issues, the serious stuff, eh :)

Laters

3 Responses to “deflated”

  1. Ruth Moss Says:

    Sorry you’re feeling deflated. Hope you find the rage again (well, in a way, anyway).

    Night night x

  2. Sylvia/M Says:

    Hairdressers and shopping are the true forms of economic stimulus, indeed.

  3. Lisa Harney Says:

    I need to say that this is deeply thought-provoking.

    I hope to have a post up soon about graduating and burning 101 to the ground. Because you’re right, we just never seem to get past it. Every conversation drags us back to the same starting point.


Comments are closed.

