Access permitted?

January 23, 2009

Duty callsI <3 my BlackBerry – but I’m also well aware that, for example, being able to Tweet while nibbling daintily at my lunchtime sandwich in the local coffee shop is an entirely unnecessary luxury.

But for those who have access to technology – and I know that there are issues around class and privilege, etc, with that – is it not a Good Thing that world leaders can be contacted by the electorate by as many different means as possible?

Via BBC World News:

Barack Obama is to keep his BlackBerry, becoming the first US president to have access to e-mail in the White House.

[…]

“It’s just one tool among a number of tools that I’m trying to use, to break out of the bubble, to make sure that people can still reach me,” he told CNN.

“If I’m doing something stupid, somebody in Chicago can send me an e-mail and say, ‘What are you doing?'”

Although I do wonder just how much email access to the President people will really have; how much screening will be in place. If, for example, to pull a completely hypothetical and random thought out of the air – if there was an email campaign pressing for an early resolution to the trans exclusive ENDA situation, would all those emails (a) actually reach him, (b) be replied to and (c) be acted upon?

More flippantly I also wonder if his spam filters will keep out all the ‘remortgage your penis’ junk mail…

(Cross-posted at Questioning Transphobia)

6 Responses to “Access permitted?”

  1. Emily Says:

    And to think how many people believed that president@whitehouse.gov got through to previous presidents! :)


  2. […] (Cross-posted at Bird of Paradox) […]

  3. Helen G Says:

    Emily: At least my letter to Santa Claus got through via the traditional letter-up-the-chimney method…

  4. Thene Says:

    Dunno about you, but I love the end of that blockquoted passage. Makes me hope he really does think that way.

  5. Depresso Says:

    I’m sure I read just the other day that he was getting an NSA-approved Blackberry type thing because the actual Blackberry is too vulnerable. Maybe that’s just for official business, mind…. I may have also read that he’s being ‘allowed’ to keep using email for personal stuff. That said, I was also convinced that there was a very small person sat on the side of my bed, wearing a bottle green hockey shirt at 6am this morning, so I could very well be wrong.

  6. Helen G Says:

    Depresso: Comment of the day, no question. You win Teh Internetz ^_^

    Joking aside, I think that I, too, have read somewhere that his BlackBerry has been restricted to sending/receiving emails only to/from senior staff.


Comments are closed.

