Ohz noez! Not *another* 2008 roundup…

December 31, 2008

Bird of Paradox logoBeen a funny old year, one way or another. The online trans community is, by definition, not only global, but also far-flung to the point of attenuation. As such it’s an almost impossible task to pick out the traditional 10 best posts, so I’ll totally cop out of that and instead, point you in the direction of my blogroll and suggest you go straight to the source(s).

Having decided to break with the ’10 best posts’ tradition, I thought it might be interesting (for me, at least) to browse through some of the comprehensive collection of facts’n’ figures in the BoP blog stats vaults. I’ve been quite pleasantly surprised – and you know how much I like to share!

19012ETA, 10.30pm: My usually irritating attention to detail meant that I couldn’t log out of BoP for the night without one last obsessive glance at the stats page… And… ZOMFGWTFLULZ!!!1!!!1!! In the last hours of the last day of the year, BoP has passed the 19,000 hits mark! How amazing is that – 19,012 unique views! Yay all my bloggy visitors and yay Bird of Paradox!

*ahem*

Where was I? Oh yes: so, without further ado, BoP loudly presents the first and final blog stats update for 2008…

Summaries

  • Total views: 19,012
  • Busiest month: November – 5,085 views
  • Busiest day: Friday, 3 October – 717 views
  • Views per day (overall average) – 78 views

Top Posts for all days ending 2008-12-31 (Summarized)

Search Terms for all days ending 2008-12-31 (Summarized)

  • bird of paradox – 84 views
  • kellie telesford – 37 views
  • angie zapata – 25 views
  • pregnant man – 18 views
  • julie bindel – 16 views
  • transgender day of remembrance 2008 – 16 views
  • lgbtory – 15 views
  • angie zapata murder – 14 views
  • thomas beatie – 13 views
  • ken zucker – 11 views

tg_black-on_pink_100x107My favourite search terms would have to be transsexual neck, wizard medical and smultron female – but I think I like this one the best: ordinary middle aged transgender women… Yep, I know that feeling!

A big hand for the spam monster: “Akismet has protected your site from 936 spam comments already, but there’s nothing in your spam queue at the moment”. Just as well, really, I still take it unnecessarily personally when some idiot spambot decides I need to remortgage my p3n15. “Too late!”, I rage futilely at the screen…

20081225-240x389And, last but not least, a big thank you for all the support and encouragement I’ve had from the huge number of people who’ve visited the site. Friends, bloggers, friendly bloggers, everyone – and no, I’m not naming names, you know who you are :)

When I took this blog out of cold storage in May and started to post more regularly, I didn’t for one minute imagine it would ever be as well-supported as it has been, so to have received nearly 19,000 views in such a short time is as confidence-boosting as it’s humbling.

May the coming year bring you everything you wish for yourselves.

Helen
x

One Response to “Ohz noez! Not *another* 2008 roundup…”

  1. Ruth Moss Says:

    Glad the blog is doing so well and happy new year to you too.


Comments are closed.

