The Patriarchy does not have system requirements

August 9, 2008

Lisa told me about this video.

It’s called simply ‘open letter’ (although I really like Lisa’s post title, which I have stolen, shamelessly).

kateofeugene posted the vid at YouTube, and her comment there reads: “to alix olson and all women who go to michigan women’s festival“.

I am reminded of Gil Scott Heron’s “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”:

Also, I haz a earworm. It is “I Talk To The Wind”, and I like this version by Opus III:

Said the straight man to the late man
Where have you been?
I’ve been here and I’ve been there
And I’ve been in between

I talk to the wind
My words are all carried away
I talk to the wind
The wind does not hear
The wind cannot hear

I’m on the outside looking inside
What do I see?
Much confusion, disillusion
All around me

You don’t possess me
Don’t impress me
Just upset my mind
Can’t instruct me or conduct me
Just use up my time

I talk to the wind
My words are all carried away
I talk to the wind
The wind does not hear
The wind cannot hear

Also, the Julia Serano essay is still relevant. It’s called “Rethinking Sexism: How Trans Women Challenge Feminism” and I talked about it here

One Response to “The Patriarchy does not have system requirements”

  1. Debi Crow Says:

    I love the open letter so much, thanks for sharing it. I saw a t-shirt for sale recently with ‘the revolution will not be YouTubed’ on it. :) xxx


Comments are closed.

